Extract private key from Microsoft CA-issued certificate

I wanted to use my internal Active Directory Certificate Services server to create a certificate for a Synology NAS. The Synology needs the private key and the certificate to be in separate files.

I created the certificate by using the CA web interface https://my-ad-cs/certsrv and then choosing the following options:

  • Request a certificate
  • advanced certificate request
  • Create and submit a request to this CA
  • Template: Web Server (5 years) – note that this is a custom certificate template that I created that allows the private key to be exported. This enables the Mark keys as exportable option, which needs to be ticked.
  • Fill in the identifying information, and leave all other options as default

Once the certificate was created, I installed it. I then opened certmgr.msc, found the certificate (under Personal – Certificates).

Next, I right-clicked the certificate, and chose All tasks – Export. I chose to export the private key, and under the .pfx option ticked Include all certificates in the certification path if possible. I set a password and saved the file.

Then I downloaded the latest version of OpenSSL and extracted the zip file.

I copied the pfx file into the folder where I’d extracted OpenSSL to, and opened a command prompt in that folder. I used the following two command lines to extract the private key and certificate from the pfx file.


openssl pkcs12 -in extracted.pfx -nocerts -out privatekey.pem -nodes

openssl pkcs12 -in extracted.pfx -nokeys -out cert.pem

These two files were then uploaded to the Synology from Control Panel, Security, Certificate.

Once the certificate was installed, I selected it and clicked Edit, then ticked Set as default certificate. Finally, I clicked Configure and changed each of the services to use the new certificate. Upon clicking OK, the web services restarted and are now using my CA certificate.

 

This entry was posted in Security, Storage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

