3 Responses to Outlook 2013 High CPU Usage

  1. NickC says:

    Don’t forget to remove KB3114717 if it’s present. It’s an update released and then declined in Feb 2016 known to cause Outlook & Word CPU spikes.

    • rcmtech says:

      Yes thanks, already had some issues with that on a colleague’s machine. It wasn’t what was causing this problem – would have been nice if it was though, in a way…!

  2. Kali says:

    I had the same problem and here’s what I did to fix it.

    I went to File->Options and went through each option. I didn’t change anything in General or Mail, below is what I changed and where. My Outlook 2013 CPU is now at 0%. In a nutshell, I turned off options I didn’t use or need.

    Calendar – Scheduling Assistant – Turned off – Show calendar details in Screen Tip
    Calendar – Weather – Unchecked – Show weather on the calendar. Turning this on kept the CPU at around 6%
    People – Online Status and Photographs – Unchecked – Show user photographs when available
    Search – Results – Clicked – Current mailbox
    Search – Results – Unchecked – Improve search speed by limiting the number of results shown
    Advanced – Other – Unchecked – Use animations when expanding conversations and groups

    Add-ins – Prior to doing the above, I disabled all my Add-ins except Microsoft Exchange Add-in with no change in CPU usage, it still uses 10-15%

Leave a Reply

