NetBackup bpfis and bpbkar32 memory issues with VMware backups

I noticed events mentioning low memory conditions on my NetBackup 7.1 media servers, during the times when they’d be busy doing evening backups. These servers have 32GB of RAM, so I was surprised to see them saying out of memory.

Log Name:      System
 Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Resource-Exhaustion-Detector
 Date:          06/03/2013 19:52:44
 Event ID:      2004
 Task Category: Resource Exhaustion Diagnosis Events
 Level:         Warning
 Keywords:      Events related to exhaustion of system commit limit (virtual memory).
 User:          SYSTEM
 Computer:      NBU-MEDIA01.rcmtech.co.uk
 Description:
 Windows successfully diagnosed a low virtual memory condition.
 The following programs consumed the most virtual memory:
 bpfis.exe (5316) consumed 113549312 bytes,
 bpbkar32.exe (12964) consumed 113000448 bytes,
 and bpfis.exe (13224) consumed 110944256 bytes.

I found article TECH161502 in the Symantec knowledge base, which refers to an issue with “larger” VMware environments and releasing information from memory.

I’ve added the registry DWORD value mentioned (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Symantec\SymVmTools\SymVmToolsDisableRefresh = 1) to my Master and two Media servers and have not seen bpfis.exe mentioned in the event log since.

I have had one instance of event 2004 logged since I made the registry change, on the evening of the day that I made the registry changes. However, this time it only mentioned bpbkar32.exe. Before I got rid of the bpfis.exe memory issue, and still afterwards, I’ve also been getting quite a few (~ 20/day) errors saying that bpbkar32 terminated unexpectedly, again during the peak period of my evening backups. I’ve found TECH186680 which mentions this issue, but nearly a year on and there’s still no fix.

This entry was posted in NetBackup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NetBackup bpfis and bpbkar32 memory issues with VMware backups

  1. Hi Robin,
    I work for Symantec. I asked our engineering team to review this. I am told that the issue had been fixed. Do you still have problem? Which version of NetBackup are you using? Feel free to reach out at @AbdulRasheed127

  2. rcmtech says:

    I’ve now upgraded to NetBackup 7.5 and the event is not being logged anymore (last occurrence was 23rd June 2013, and I upgraded to 7.5 on 2nd July – so quite a close correlation). Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

