Error adding x86 printer driver to x64 Windows Server 2008 R2

I want both the x64 and x86 drivers on the same print server. I have previously done this with no problems, e.g. using the HP Universal Printing (v5.2) driver.

This time I was trying to add HP Photosmart Pro B9100 series and it really wasn’t having it. The x64 driver went on ok, albeit with a warning – I’m guessing the driver isn’t signed. I did this from the Print Management Console on the print server itself, normally I’d do it remotely but this thing had been winding me up so I was trying to eliminate any possible issues.

To get the x86 version of the driver to add I had to:

  1. Add a queue for the printer on the x64 machine, just point it to LTP1, the port doesn’t matter. Doesn’t need to be shared.
  2. Find an x86 machine and install the x86 version of the driver, I used a Windows Server 2008 server for this, but presumably Windows Vista or Windows 7 would work too.
  3. From the x86 machine, log on with an account that has administrator rights on your x64 server. Browse to \\x64server.
  4. Double-click Printers, right-click your shared printer (as per step 1), click properties and go to the Sharing tab.
  5. Click the Additional Drivers button, tick the x86 box in the Processor column then click OK.
  6. The driver files etc. will be copied over to your x64 print server
This entry was posted in Windows. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Error adding x86 printer driver to x64 Windows Server 2008 R2

  1. Nikki says:

    Thank you. I have been trying to do this for a week. Out of all the forums I have been to, you are the only one who gave a working answer. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

