Change number of simultaneous vMotion operations in vSphere 4.1

So having upgraded vCenter to 4.1 it’s now running on a different server (the v4.0 vCenter was running on a 32-bit OS).

Had previously adjusted the vpxd.cfg file to allow more simultaneous vMotion operations, as per here. On the new server, because it was a fresh install of vCenter (as per chapter 5 of the vSphere 4.1 Upgrade Guide), I therefore needed to make the change again.

On the vCenter 4.0 server I had set maxCostPerHost to 24 in the vpxd.cfg file, this gave six simultaneous vMotion operations, with any further ones being queued.

I made the same change on the new vCenter 4.1 server. Note that if running on Windows Server 2008 (inc. R2) the file is found here:

C:\ProgramData\VMware\VMware VirtualCenter\vpxd.cfg

I tried putting a host into maintenance mode, but got fourteen simultaneous vMotions, plus two queued. The maths has clearly changed. on vCenter 4.0 the “cost” of a vMotion was 4, thus previously 24/4 = 6 simultaneous. However 24/14 = 1.71, which is a very strange number (at least when compared to the previous nice round number of four).

A possible explanation is that whilst the vCenter server is now v4.1, the hosts themselves are still running vSphere 4.0. So more testing required once they’re all up to v4.1 too.

Interestingly, with 2 x 1GB network links for vMotion, 14 simultaneous operations worked fine, so at the moment I’m not too fussed…

This entry was posted in vSphere. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Change number of simultaneous vMotion operations in vSphere 4.1

  1. Jason Boche says:

    Interesting observation. My lab is completely on vSphere 4.1 but I haven’t noticed the math has changed from a concurrent number of vMotion standpoint. If I remember right, I’ve got it configured for 24 or 6 concurrent. I’ll keep an eye on it.

  2. Todd Williams says:

    I’m running 4.1 in both vCenter and on the ESXi hosts and the maxCostPerHost setting no longer seems to work for me. I want to limit the number of concurrent VMotions to 2 so I used 8 but it does not limit the number of VMotions! Did VMware depricate this setting in 4.1 maybe?

    Anyone else having this issue?

  3. We just upgraded our hosting operations to vCenter 4.1 (hosts are running 4.0 still). After configuring the maxCostPerHost value to 12, we only saw 3 vMotions at once. At 24, we’re seeing only 4 vMotions from any one host at a time. The rest are queued up… Hmmmmm. I’m going to play with this in our lab and see if I can figure out the math…

    Thanks for the info though guys.

Leave a Reply

